Back BackNext NextBack to View Back to ViewMain Main

Slide 19
Acute non-lymphocytic leukemia is a condition in which at least 40%-50% of the cells in the bone marrow are either blasts, promyelocytes, or promonocytes. ALL was discussed in the program Lymphocytic Leukemia: Acute and Chronic in this series.

The FAB classification for the ANLLs is listed in Table 2. It is based on bone marrow morphology. M1 is AML without maturation. M2 is partialiy differentiated AML with more than 50% of the cells myeloblasts and promyelocytes and with myelocytes and metamyelocytes present. M3 is acute promyelocytic leukemia (APL) with more than 30% promyelocytes. M4 is acute myelomonocytic leukemia (AMML) and resembles M2 except that approximately 25% of the cells are myeloblasts and promyelocytes and 25% are monoblasts, promonocytes, and monocytes. The acute monocytic leukemias (AMoL) are divided into two types: M5a, without maturation, and M5b, with partial maturation. M6 is erythroleukemia (EL) with more than 50% total NRBCs and with many of the erythroblasts having bizarre features. Auer rods may be present in any of the different types of ANLL. Only the first three of these types will be discussed in this program; the remainder are discussed in the program Acute Myelomonocytic Leukemia, Monocytic Leukemia, and Erythroleukemia.

Press here to view the associated table-->Database 'Hematology Archive', View 'Everything', Document 'Table 2'

Course Section: 08. Myelocytic Leukemia: Chronic and Acute
Questions and comments about the design of this database
should be directed to